Minnesota Interlock Resources
Information on Minnesota Ignition Interlock and DWI Laws
Minnesota ignition interlock laws require drivers with any first-time alcohol offense with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level under 0.16 to lose their ability to drive for 90 Days. There are three options if this applies t you. You can install and ignition interlock (in-car breathalyzer) and receive and igintion interlock restricted license with full driving privileges. After 15 days without driving, you can apply for a limited license that will allow you to drive to and from work, school, treatment, abstinence support group meetings, court, and probation. You are limited to driving 60 hours and no more than six days per week with this type of license. You cannot drive for the full 90 days. If it your 1st alcohol offense but you had a BAC of 0.16 or greater, you cannot drive for one year, but you have two options. You can install an ignition interlock and you will be able to drive just as you did before or go without driving for one year. If you refused to take an alcohol test at the time of your arrest, you will not be able to drive for one year, but you can install an igintion interlock, wait 15 days, and apply for a limited license with restrictions on where you can drive and how much driving you can do. If this is a 2nd offense in 10 years or 3rd offense on record (revoked status) with a BAC under 0.16, there is a one-year suspension. The only way to continue driving is to install and ignition interlock device. If your BAC was over 0.16 or if you refused to take a BAC test at the time of you arrest, you will not be able to drive for two years unless you install an ignition interlock. If your licence is "Canceled and Denied as Inimical to Public Safety," your 3rd offense within 10 years or 4th offense on record results in three years minimum loss of driving privileges. A 4th offense within 10 years results in four years minimum loss of driving privileges. And a 5th or subsequent offense results in six years minimum loss of driving privileges. In addition to these administrative sanctions, if you are convicted by a court or plead guilty, you face additional penalties. For a 1st conviction, the criminal sanctions are up to 90 days in jail and/or a fine of $1,000. A full chart of the administrative and criminal consequences of DWI in Minnesota is available here. Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general information purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from LifeSafer Ignition Interlock to other sites, or from other sites to the LifeSafer do not constitute an endorsement by LifesSafer.